Améliorations au pont du Canal sur la rue Bank

Le pont du Canal sur la rue Bank est une structure emblématique pour le quartier Capitale et pour la ville, ainsi qu’une connexion importante entre les communautés de chaque côté du Canal Rideau. La rue Bank est constituée de résidences, magasins, restaurants, bureaux, centres communautaires et, bien sûr, le parc Lansdowne.

C’est une rue vivante et florissante qui sert de lien entre communautés et comme lieu de rendez-vous.

C’est aussi depuis longtemps une source d’inquiétude pour les résidents du quartier Capitale (et à travers la ville). Il y a un problème de vitesse sur le pont, il n’y a aucune place sécuritaire pour les cyclistes, et les trottoirs peuvent être trop étroits pour les piétons et ceux avec une chaise roulante.

Notre bureau veut assurer que le pont soit aussi sécuritaire que possible pour tous les usagers, en étant conscients des exigences particulières de cette section de Bank – c’est une route d’autobus, une route pour les camions, et fait aussi partie du plan de transport pour le parc Lansdowne. Nous en avons beaucoup parlé au courant de la dernière élection.

Récemment, les résidents de cette région auraient reçu un avis de construction pour le pont cet été. Le plan était de réparer le dessus du pont (réasphalter et réparer le trottoir) et le dessous du pont (on doit réparer quelques sections de béton).

On doit toujours réparer le dessous du pont cet été, mais nous avons reçu plusieurs commentaires du public, et avons travaillé avec le personnel de la ville pour trouver une solution pour le dessus du pont avant la construction. Les pylônes que notre bureau a achetés (à un prix bien plus petit que si on les avait achetés) demeureront sur le pont pour augmenter la sécurité et la distanciation.

Avec l’aide du personnel de la ville, nous aurons des discussions au sujet d’une conception qui devrait satisfaire tous les besoins des usagers du pont et améliorer la sécurité de tous.

Nous pouvons donc réimaginer le pont et mettre en place des mesures qui serviront à tous les résidents.

Conception actuelle

Aujourd’hui, le pont comprend quatre voies pour les automobiles, deux en direction nord et deux en direction sud. Les voies extérieures mesurent 3.65m, et les voies du centre mesurent 3.0m.

Les cyclistes doivent partager les voies extérieures avec les automobiles, les camions de livraison et les autobus.

Le trottoir de chaque coté du pont mesure 2.0m.

Questions de sécurité

La conception actuelle du pont ne fourni aucune infrastructure pour les cyclistes. Les bicyclettes doivent partager la route avec les automobiles, les camions de livraison et les autobus.

Le danger est aggravé par l’angle et la hauteur du pont, qui limite la possibilité de voir un cycliste de l’autre coté du sommet du pont, ainsi que l’excès de vitesse qu’on observe souvent sur le pont.

Pour des raisons de sécurité, plusieurs cyclistes sont forcés à prendre le trottoir, ce qui encourage les conflits avec les piétons car le trottoir mesure seulement deux mètres de largeur.

La largeur du trottoir peut aussi poser des problèmes pour ceux qui marchent, qui ont une chaise roulante ou une poussette, et aussi ceux avec de jeunes enfants.

Il peut y avoir des conflits lorsque les gens se croisent en sens opposé. Le problème est beaucoup plus prononcé en hiver, lorsque la neige rétrécit le trottoir.

Nos communautés cherchent depuis longtemps des améliorations à ce pont, et durant la dernière élection, je me suis engagé à améliorer la sécurité des transports dans le quartier et le long de la rue Bank, incluant sur le pont.

Réimaginer le pont

Puisqu’il y a déjà de la construction planifiée pour le pont, notre bureau a vu une possibilité de résoudre les problèmes historiques de ce pont. Nous avons demandé au personnel de la ville de recommander des mesures de sécurité additionnelles pour les piétons et les cyclistes.

Ceci n’est pas une tache facile. Puisque c’est une route pour les autobus et aussi les camions de livraison, toute nouvelle conception doit accommoder les gros camions lourds. Le pont fait aussi partie du plan de transport du parc Lansdowne, ou les autobus font la queue durant les parties des RedBlacks et d’autres gros évènements. On doit aussi considérer statut patrimonial du pont.

Après plusieurs mois de collaboration avec le personnel de la ville, nous pouvons vous présenter une conception qui offre beaucoup plus de sécurité tout en respectant le cadre unique du pont.

Le concept proposé aurait trois voies pour les véhicules - deux voies en direction nord, une voie en direction sud, mesurant 3.5m chacune. La voie extérieure en direction nord servirait toujours pour la queue d’autobus suite aux parties des RedBlacks.

De chaque côté du pont, un sentier à usages multiples (SUM) serait installé. Chaque SUM mesurerait 3.1m (aussi large que les SUM le long du Canal Rideau, qui mesurent 3.0m). Les SUM seraient partagés par les piétons et les cyclistes, et il y aurait une balustrade de métal ajoutée d’après les normes provinciales.

Il serait entendu que les cyclistes prendraient le coté droit de la route et que les piétons peuvent marcher des deux côtés. La neige serait déblayée des SUM en hiver, comme les trottoirs le sont en saison.

Cette conception aurait deux avantages comparés à la configuration actuelle. Premièrement, le resserrement des voies devrait aider à ralentir le traffic. Les excès de vitesse sont souvent un problème pour les résidents de cette région, et on tient à améliorer la situation.

De plus, il y aurait plus d’espace pour les piétons qui se rendent aux évènements du parc Lansdowne. Présentement, les trottoirs ne fournissent pas assez d’espace pour les gens qui marchent à Lansdowne pour les parties des RedBlacks ou autres événements, et plusieurs choisissent de marcher dans la rue. Les SUM proposées offriraient plus d’espace et plus de sécurité pour les participants et les voisins.

Consultation publique

On tient à consulter avec les résidents du quartier et les associations communautaires au courant de l’été. On ne pourra pas tenir des consultations en personne comme à l’habitude à cause de la COVID-19. Donc, il y aura consultation en ligne, mais l’horaire n’est pas encore déterminé.

Entre-temps, écrivez-nous un courriel à capitalward@ottawa.ca.

La décision finale sera faite à la suite des consultations et sera publiée à l’intention du public.

Calendrier du projet

Le département du trafic présentera un rapport au comité de transport à la réunion du mois de septembre. Toute nouvelle conception pour le pont serait incluse dans ce rapport.

La nouvelle conception du pont serait réalisée en 2021.

La construction sous le pont commencera cet été. Puisqu’il n’y aura aucun changement à la structure du pont, ce travail peut être entrepris pendant que nous consultons ensemble au sujet de la nouvelle conception.

Connectez-vous avec nous

Adresse courriel : capitalward@ottawa.ca
Téléphone : 613-580-2424 ext. 17017

Bank Street Canal Bridge Improvements

The Bank Street Canal Bridge is an iconic structure for Capital Ward and for the city, and it serves as an important link between the various communities on each side of the Rideau Canal. Bank Street is home to residential buildings, shops, restaurants, offices, community buildings and, of course, Lansdowne Park.

It is a thriving, livable street that serves both as a link between communities and a hub of activity.

It has also long been a source of concern for the residents of Capital Ward (and residents across the city). There is often speeding on the bridge, there is no safe space for bicyclists, and the sidewalks can be too narrow for pedestrians and those in wheelchairs.

Our office wants to make the bridge as safe as possible for all road users, understanding that there are unique demands for this stretch of Bank—it’s a bus route, a truck route and it is part of the transportation plan for Lansdowne Park. We talked about this extensively during the last election.

Recently, residents in the area would have received a construction notice for the bridge this aummer. The plan was to repair the top of the bridge (repave and also repair the sidewalk) and the bottom of the bridge (some concrete is falling and needs attention).

There is still a plan to proceed with the works underneath the bridge this Summer, but after significant public feedback, we worked with city staff to discuss what can be done to the top of the bridge before construction took place. The pylons that our office purchased (at a much-reduced cost than renting them) will remain on the bridge for the near future to enhance safety and distancing.

Working with city staff, we will be consulting on a design that should better satisfy all the uses of the bridge while also improving safety for all road users.

We can now re-imagine the layout of the bridge, and implement a new design that will better serve all residents.

Current Design

Currently, the bridge with four motor vehicle lanes, two each in the northbound and southbound directions. The curb lanes measure 3.65m and the centre lanes measure 3.0m.

Bicyclists are expected to share the curb lane with cars, trucks, buses and transport trucks.

The sidewalk on each side of the bridge measures 2.0m.

Safety Concerns

The current design of the bridge provides no safe facilities for bicyclists. Bicyclists are expected to share the curb lane with cars, trucks, buses and transport trucks.

The danger is exacerbated by the pitch of the bridge, limiting a driver’s ability to see bicyclists on the other side of the crest of the bridge, as well as the tendency of some drivers to speed over the bridge.

For safety reasons, many bicyclists are forced onto the sidewalk, fostering conflict with pedestrians, as the sidewalks are only two meters wide.

The width of the sidewalks can also pose issues for people walking, using wheelchairs or mobility aids, people pushing strollers, or people with small children in hand. Conflict can arise when people walking in opposite directions need to pass each other. This issue is more severe in winter, when snow makes the sidewalk narrower.

These issues are nothing new. The local communities have been seeking improvements to the bridge for years, and in the municipal election, I ran on improving transportation safety in the ward and along Bank Street, including over the bridge.

Re-Designing the Bridge

With the construction planned for the bridge, our office saw this as an appropriate opportunity to address the longstanding safety issues with the bridge. We approached city staff, asking for recommendations to provide added safety measures for pedestrians and bicyclists.

This was not a simple task. Being both a bus and truck route, any re-design of the bridge must accommodate large, heavy vehicles. The bridge is used as part of the Lansdowne transportation plan, allowing buses to queue for RedBlacks games and other large events. Finally, the bridge’s heritage status must be considered.

After months of collaboration with city staff, we can now present a proposed design that would provide significant safety improvements while also respecting the unique context and uses of the bridge.

The proposed design for this new layout would consist of three motor vehicle lanes--two northbound and one southbound--each measuring 3.5m. The northbound curb lane would continue to serve as the location for buses to queue for RedBlacks games and other large events.

On each side of the bridge, a multi-use pathway (MUP) would be installed. Each MUP would measure 3.1m (for reference, standard MUPs along the Rideau Canal measure 3.0m). The MUPs would be shared by pedestrians and bicyclists. A metal railing extension would be added, as the current bridge railings would not be high enough to meet provincial standards for a MUP.

It would be expected that bicyclists would ride on the right side of the street and pedestrians would walk in either direction, just as happens along Bank Street on either side of the bridge.

The MUPs would be cleared and maintained in the winter, just as the sidewalks currently are.

This design would provide two extra advantages over the current design. First, a narrowing of the roadway should help to calm traffic and slow vehicles. Speeding is a significant issue for residents in the area, and any improvements we can make would be welcome.

Additionally, this would provide extra space for pedestrians attending special events at Lansdowne. Currently, the sidewalks do not provide sufficient space for people walking to Lansdowne Park for RedBlacks games or other large events, and many people choose to walk in the roadway. The proposed MUPs would offer more space and more safety for attendees.

To view our report on on the Bank Street Canal Bridge Re-Design, including alternate designs that were considered, click here [PDF].

Public Consultation

It is our intention to consult with residents and community associations over the summer. Due to COVID-19, we will not be able to conduct normal, in-person consultations. Digital consultations will be held, but the timing and format has not been finalized.

In the meantime, you are welcome to email us at CapitalWard@ottawa.ca.

No final decisions have been made. Any decisions will be made after consultations and will be released publicly.

Timeline

A report by the city’s Traffic Services department will be presented to the September meeting of the Transportation Committee. Any re-design of the bridge would be included in that report.

Any re-design of the bridge will be implemented in 2021.

Construction on the underside of the bridge will begin this summer. Since there will be no change to the structure of the bridge, this work can be done while consultation about the design of the bridge is being conducted.

Connect with us